Honors Tracks

Honors students join a research or creative performance track. Track courses provide many-sided reflection on social issues and problems, and/or intellectual or scientific issues and problems. The courses develop sophisticated and complex problem solving skills necessary to do deep research or sophisticated creative projects.
 
Each track begins with one or two courses that develop the background knowledge necessary to exercise deep thinking about social, intellectual, scientific and creative projects. There is a course in research methods (or creative methods) toward the beginning of the track in which students develop literature reviews necessary to understand data, describe results, and to develop or design a project. In the senior year, each student develops and presents an individual project.
 
There are currently ten Honors tracks. Each track is directed by a faculty member who determines the appropriate courses for the track, admits students, and guides the students through the track and thesis project.
 
Students must enter an Honors track by their junior year in order to be in good standing in the Honors College.
 
The Honors College requires all students to pursue a disciplinary major and an Honors track. The track may parallel the major, relate to the major, or be very different from the major. Different tracks have different requirements, and students are encouraged to speak with the track directors before applying to a track.
 

Track Directors

Track Directors run individual tracks, mentor many of the Honors students, and help determine the College's curriculum requirements and oversee its mission. 

Dr. Joseph Spagna, Biology
(973) 720-2793
spagnaj@wpunj.edu

Dr. Mike (Chen-Ho) Chao, Business
(973) 720-3746
chaoc@wpunj.edu

Dr. Bruce Diamond, Clinical Psychology and Neuropsychology
(973) 720-3400
diamondb@wpunj.edu

Dr. Amy Learmonth, Cognitive Science
(973) 720-2765
learmontha@wpunj.edu

Dr. K. Molly O'Donnell, Humanities
(973) 720-2146
odonnellk@wpunj.edu

Dr. Barbara Andrew, Independent
(973) 720-3658
andrewb@wpunj.edu

Dr. Jeffery Kresky, Music
(973) 720-3470
kreskyj@wpunj.edu

Dr. Jill Nocella, Nursing
(973) 720-3483
nocellaj1@wpunj.edu

Dr. Philip Cioffari, Performing and Literary Arts
(973) 720-3053
cioffarip@wpunj.edu

Dr. Neil Kressel, Social Sciences
(973) 720-3389
kresseln@wpunj.edu