Students from William Paterson University's Radio and TV Stations Win Five First-Place Awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System


Students from the campus radio and television stations gather for a group photo after the awards ceremony.

Students from William Paterson University’s radio and television stations, 88.7 FM Brave New Radio and WPTV-6 television, won a combined five first-place awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS). Students from the radio station and the TV club gathered at the annual IBS awards ceremony in New York City on Saturday, February 25, 2023.

Students from 88.7 FM, Brave New Radio won three awards from seven nominations:

  • Best On-Air Personality - Vont Leak
  • Best Program Director - Vont Leak
  • Best Community Outreach Event – “Flag Football Fundraiser” – Maura Perez-Hernandez, Jacob Chalfant

Students from the WPTV-6 won two awards from six nominations:

  • Best Variety Program – “Very Late with Vont Leak” – Vont Leak, Johan Yamoza, Isabel Birritteri, Calvin Richey, Marissa Banks, Justis Gregg, Alyssa Figueroa
  • Best Sports Program – “WP Sports Desk” – Samory Rose

"Winning these awards during my senior year just helps reaffirm that my passion and drive doesn't go unnoticed. I'm thankful that my hard work from day one in the communications department has paid off," says Vont Leak, student program director for Brave New Radio and student president for WPTV. Leak won three IBS Awards, two in the radio category, with one award for Best On-Air Personality and the other for Program Director, and one award in television for Best Variety Program for the WPTV program “Very Late with Vont Leak.” 

“Our students are incredibly talented, hard-working, and dedicated. It is exciting to watch them produce outstanding radio and television programming, and we are thankful to see them recognized for excellence by IBS. The number of nominations and first-place awards serves as a testament to their creativity and high-caliber work. Our students are also fortunate to be supported by an extraordinary group of professionals including the radio and TV studio general managers, Rob Taylor and Al Clarke, and the faculty in William Paterson University's department of communication,” said Professor Michele Cascardi, Interim Chairperson of the communication department.

“Once again, we find ourselves in the fortunate position to be congratulating individuals and groups of students who are demonstrating their craft at the highest levels. From the administration to the faculty and staff, it takes all of us to provide the opportunities for our students to excel; congratulations to all,” adds Clarke, who is also the WPTV club advisor.

“I’m so excited for our students who won and for those who were nominated, as they are recognized once again as being the best in the nation,” says Taylor, who is also an adjunct professor of communication on campus. “The IBS awards are very competitive and I had no doubts that our group of very talented students were up for the challenge.”