The sociologists at William Paterson University are dedicated professionals with a strong commitment to student success and high standards. Most are highly respected scholars, and active as members and officers in regional and national sociological organizations. Some have international reputations and have been invited lecturers at universities in Asia, Canada and Europe. Some have also written college textbooks that are leaders in their field; while students elsewhere in the United States learn from their efforts through these books, William Paterson students have the advantage of learning from these authors directly through interactions in and out of the classroom.

Besides their national esteem as scholars and communicators of knowledge, the sociology faculty are, first and foremost, teachers committed to a positive and effective learning environment. We take great pride in having one of the lowest out-changes of major in the University despite the rigorous academic standards we set for our students. Exit surveys of graduating seniors consistently praise the personal interest that the sociology faculty take in student welfare and the knowledge and insights that students say they gained from them.

Further information about individual full-time and part-time sociology faculty can be found by clicking any of the following links.

 Name OfficePhoneEmail

                                                Full Time Faculty                                             

  Beth Adubato   R450 X2333 adubatob@wpunj.edu
  Maboud Ansari   R 422 x3423 ansarim@wpunj.edu
  Mary Pat Baumgartner   R 418 x3174 baumgartnerm@wpunj.edu
  Joel Capellan   R435 x2882 capellanj@wpunj.edu 
  Wendy Christensen   R 455 x3937 christensenw@wpunj.edu
  Jennifer Di Noia   R 451 x3714 dinoiaj@wpunj.edu
  Mark Ellis  CCJ Director R 459 x3411 ellism@wpunj.edu
  Jacob Felson  Chairperson R 463 x3429 felsonj@wpunj.edu
  Paula Fernandez   R 447 x2246 fernandezp3@wpunj.edu
  Charley Flint   R 414 x2368 flintc@wpunj.edu
  Gennifer Furst  (on sabbatical) R 460 x2417 furstg@wpunj.edu
  Amber Horning Ruf   R 456 x3426 rufa1@wpunj.edu
  Kathleen Odell Korgen   R 453 x3563 korgenk@wpunj.edu
  Clyde Magarelli   R 463 x3425   magarellic@wpunj.edu
  Keumjae Park   R 449 x3562 parkk4@wpunj.edu
  Vincent N. Parrillo  Graduate Director R 429 x2669 parrillov@wpunj.edu
  Sheetal Ranjan   R 455 x3568 ranjans@wpunj.edu
  Michael Schlossman   R461 x3434 schlossmanm@wpunj.edu
  Susanna Tardi   R 431 x3081 tardis@wpunj.edu
  Gabe T. Wang   R 420 x3410 wangg@wpunj.edu
  Deniz Yucel  Asst. Chairperson R 457 x2572 yuceld@wpunj.edu
  Debra Wilson-Brown Administrative Asst. R 465 x2274 wilsond@wpunj.edu

                                                  Adjunct Faculty                                             

  Robert Alexander   R452 x4017 alexanderr@wpunj.edu
  Richard Baird   R452 x  
  Staci Block   R452 x4068 blocks@wpunj.edu
  Roger Canaff        
  William T. Curcio   R452 x4154 curciow@wpunj.edu
  Claudia Damari   R452 x5020 damaric@wpunj.edu 
  Michael DeMarco        
  Joseph L. DiGiacomo   R452 x4182 digiacomoj@wpunj.edu
  Gretchen Fry   R452 x4661 fryg@wpunj.edu
  Arturo P. Lewis    R452  x1439 lewisa8@wpunj.edu
  Chien Liu    R452 x4422 liuc@wpunj.edu
  Emily Mahon   R448 x4444 mahone@wpunj.edu
  Estee Marchi   R452 x4752 marchie@wpunj.edu
  Jennifer McAdam    R452 x4472 mcadamj@wpunj.edu
  Patrick McNicholas   R452 x4847 mcnicholasp@wpunj.edu
  Elizabeth Morley   R452 x4884 morleye@wpunj.edu
  Noel Mouldovan   R452 x4527 mouldovann@wpunj.edu
  Michelle Murphy        
  Sarah E. Murray   R452 x4531 murrays@wpunj.edu
  Amalia Paladino   R452  x5007 paladinoa@wpunj.edu
  Bruce Peterson        
  Lorraine M. Phillips   R452  x4180 phillipsl@wpunj.edu
  Myra Robinson   R452 x4640 robinsonm50@wpunj.edu
  John Runfeldt        
  James Schwartz   R452 x4547 schwartzj@wpunj.edu
  Sanford Shevack   R452 x4294 shevacks@wpunj.edu
  Brian Weitzman   R452 x5051 weitzman@wpunj.edu
  Jason Williamson        
  Howard Wineberg   R452 x4823 winebergh@wpunj.edu
  Kevin Wronko        
  Richard A. Zdan    R452  x4840 zdanr@wpunj.edu

                                             Emeritus Faculty                                                

  Louis Gaydosh        
  Rosanne Martorella        
  James Mahon            
  Peter Stein        
  John Stimson        
  William Willis