Faculty

The sociologists at William Paterson University are dedicated professionals with a strong commitment to student success and high standards. Most are highly respected scholars, and active as members and officers in regional and national sociological organizations. Some have international reputations and have been invited lecturers at universities in Asia, Canada and Europe. Some have also written college textbooks that are leaders in their field; while students elsewhere in the United States learn from their efforts through these books, William Paterson students have the advantage of learning from these authors directly through interactions in and out of the classroom.

Besides their national esteem as scholars and communicators of knowledge, the sociology faculty are, first and foremost, teachers committed to a positive and effective learning environment. We take great pride in having one of the lowest out-changes of major in the University despite the rigorous academic standards we set for our students. Exit surveys of graduating seniors consistently praise the personal interest that the sociology faculty take in student welfare and the knowledge and insights that students say they gained from them.

Further information about individual full-time and part-time sociology faculty can be found by clicking any of the following links.

Name OfficePhoneEmail

                                                Full Time Faculty                                             

Maboud Ansari   R 422 x3423 ansarim@wpunj.edu
Mary Pat Baumgartner   R 418 x3174 baumgartnerm@wpunj.edu
Wendy Christensen  Asst. Chairperson R 455 x3937 christensenw@wpunj.edu
Jennifer Di Noia  (on sabbatical) R 451 x3714 dinoiaj@wpunj.edu
Mark Ellis  CCJ Director R 459 x3411 ellism@wpunj.edu
Jacob Felson  Chairperson R 463 x3429 felsonj@wpunj.edu
Paula Fernandez   R 447 x2246 fernandezp3@wpunj.edu
Charley Flint   R 414 x2368 flintc@wpunj.edu
Gennifer Furst R 460 x2417 furstg@wpunj.edu
Andrew Gladfelter R 435 x2882 gladfeltera@wpunj.edu
Amber Horning   R 456 x3426 rufa1@wpunj.edu
Lee Michael Johnson R 450 x2333 johnsonl56@wpunj.edu
Kathleen Odell Korgen  (on sabbatical) R 453 x3563 korgenk@wpunj.edu
Clyde Magarelli   R 463 x3425   magarellic@wpunj.edu
Keumjae Park R 449 x3562 parkk4@wpunj.edu
Vincent N. Parrillo  Graduate Director R 429 x2669 parrillov@wpunj.edu
Sheetal Ranjan   R 455 x3568 ranjans@wpunj.edu
Michael Schlossman   R461 x3434 schlossmanm@wpunj.edu
Susanna Tardi   R 431 x3081 tardis@wpunj.edu
Gabe T. Wang   R 420 x3410 wangg@wpunj.edu
Deniz Yucel   R 457 x2572 yuceld@wpunj.edu
Debra Wilson-Brown Administrative Asst. R 465 x2274 wilsond@wpunj.edu

                                                  Adjunct Faculty                                             

Robert Alexander   R452 x4017 alexanderr@wpunj.edu
Richard Baird   R452 x3007

bairdr@wpunj.ed

Staci Block   R452 x4068 blocks@wpunj.edu
Kwan-Lamar Blount-Hill   R451 x4842 blounthillk@wpunj.edu
Roger Canaff   R452   canaffr@wpunj.edu
Steve Collesano   R452 x4086 collesanos@wpunj.edu
William T. Curcio   R452 x4154 curciow@wpunj.edu
Claudia Damari   R452 x5020 damaric@wpunj.edu 
Michael DeMarco   R452 x4228 demarco@wpunj.edu
Joseph L. DiGiacomo   R452 x4182 digiacomoj@wpunj.edu
Gretchen Fry   R452 x4661 fryg@wpunj.edu
Jennifer Ghahari   R452 x4634 ghaharij@wpunj.edu
Kevin Keogan   R452 x5076 keogank@wpunj.edu
Helena Lewis   R452 x4771 lewish@wpunj.edu
Arturo P. Lewis   R452  x1439 lewisa8@wpunj.edu
Chien Liu   R452 x4422 liuc@wpunj.edu
Beth Mahler   R452   mahlerb@wpunj.edu
Emily Mahon   R448 x4444 mahone@wpunj.edu
Estee Marchi   R452 x4752 marchie@wpunj.edu
Jennifer McAdam    R452 x4472 mcadamj@wpunj.edu
Patrick McNicholas   R452 x4847 mcnicholasp@wpunj.edu
Elizabeth Morley   R452 x4884 morleye@wpunj.edu
Noel Mouldovan   R452 x4527 mouldovann@wpunj.edu
Sarah E. Murray       murrays@wpunj.edu
Bruce Peterson      x4585 petersonb@wpunj.edu
Lorraine M. Phillips   R452  x4180 phillipsl@wpunj.edu
Michael Prohaska   R452 x4920 prohaskam@wpunj.edu
James Schwartz   R452 x4547 schwartzj@wpunj.edu
Shikah Shah   R452 x4588 shahs17@wpunj.edu
Sanford Shevack   R452 x4294 shevacks@wpunj.edu
Marie Springer   R452 x4113 springerm@wpunj.edu
Brian Weitzman   R452 x5051 weitzman@wpunj.edu
Jason Williamson   R452 x4057 williamsonj@wpunj.edu
Howard Wineberg   R452 x4823 winebergh@wpunj.edu
Kevin Wronko   R452 x4831  wronkok@wpunj.edu
Richard A. Zdan   R452 x4840 zdanr@wpunj.edu

                                             Emeritus Faculty                                                

Louis Gaydosh        
Rosanne Martorella        
James Mahon       R448 x4444 mahonj@wpunj.edu
Peter Stein        
John Stimson        
William Willis