News Notes About Faculty, Staff, and Students

Anthony Bundy, educational leadership and professional studies, will present a paper “An Examination of the Various Ways that Teachers Become Leaders: A Blended Process,” at the Spring 2014 Hawaii International Conference on Education.

Djanna Hill, secondary and middle education, will present a paper, “Exploring the Experiences of Teacher Insiders: A Snapshot of the Grow Your Own Teacher Movement” at the 2014 Annual Meeting of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.

Vincent Parrillo, sociology, was interviewed on NJTV’s “Life and Living with Joanna Gagis”  in August about his recent documentary about the artist Gaetano Federici, Gaetano Federici: The Sculptor Laureate of Paterson

Robin Schwartz, art, had two of her photographs featured in a recent issue of Time magazine. More photos can be viewed online at

Kurt Wagner, library, has been awarded the 2013 Innovation and Technology Award from the New Jersey Library Association, College and University Section, for the innovative use and application of technology in the implementation of a shared library system for New Jersey’s academic libraries.

Nancy Weiner, library, contributed significant work to the premiere issue of Library Reference Services and Information Literacy: Models for Academic Institutions,      published in June by IGI Global, an international publishing company specializing in high-quality publications in several fields.

Martin Williams, office of sponsored programs, received a Region II Distinguished Service Award from the National Council of University Research Administrators for his leadership and volunteer work for the organization.

Shaun Woerner, kinesiology, was recognized as a national scholar by the American Kinesiology Association. The award honors his academic excellence and leadership. The AKA Scholar Awards recognize, at the national level, the academic and leadership accomplishments of undergraduate students in AKA member departments.

Loretta McLaughlin-Vignier, communication, executive producer and faculty advisor of the Communication Department’s television show The Roundabout has received a bronze Telly Award in the 34th annual Telly Awards announced earlier this year. The award is in the non-broadcast education category. The awards honor outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials and programs, videos and film production and online media. She also received a silver CINDY Award for the show, presented by Cinema in Industry, an organization which honors the theatrical, broadcast, non broadcast and interactive media professionals around the globe.