University's TV Sports and Comedy Programs Win Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Awards

Joe Paolantonio, Justin Valentovic, Dante Vocatoro, and Stephen Bologna

William Paterson University’s student-run WPTV television station won awards for WP Sports Desk and Best Video Comedy Program at the 81st annual Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) awards virtual ceremony.

This is the third IBS award for WP Sports Desk, a weekly half-hour student-produced sports talk show on WPTV that includes the following producers: Stephen Bologna, NCAA football; Joe Paolantonio, WP Sports; Dante Vocaturo ‘20, former host and coordinating producer; and Justin Valentovic, NFL. The specific winning episode can be viewed at:

WPTV also won the Best Video Comedy Program award for its show, The Fake News Network, Switzerland Takes a Stand! episode. A satire news series, the show features Jonah Arnault, head writer; Enrico Cruz, graphics designer; Regan McClure, casting director; Spencer Roda ‘20, former executive producer; and Skye Gugliuzza, social media director.

Al Clarke, WPTV studio manager and adjunct professor, is the adviser for the television station that also won awards for Best Student Station Manager, Shaffer Johnston, and Best Social Media Director, John Conlow.

Other IBS awards went to William Paterson’s radio station WPSC for Best Specialty Music Show produced by Tiernan Doyle.