Faculty

Faculty                                              Research        Contact Info
 arnone James Arnone
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Wesleyan University
2012
Genetics, genomics and molecular biology using Saccharomyces cerevisiae as a model organism   Phone: 1 973 720 3457
Office: SCIE 4042
ArnoneJ@wpunj.edu
 Bierbower Sonya Bierbower
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Kentucky
2010
Brain edema, cytotoxicity and the inflammatory responses through modulation of excitability of neurons after a Traumatic Brain Injury   Phone: 1 973 720 3455 Office: SCIE 4052 BierbowerS@wpunj.edu
Danielle Desroches
Professor
Ph.D., City University of New York, Hunter College
1978
Neuroendocrinology; teratogenic agents and development   Phone: 1 973 720 2329
Office: SCIE 4046
DesrochesD@wpunj.edu
 
E. Eileen Gardner
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas
1980
Protein expression during development   Phone: 1 973 720 3441
Office: SCIE 4057
GardnerE@wpunj.edu
David Gilley
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
2003
Animal Behavior; Social Insects   Phone: 1 973 720 2549
Office: SCIE 4038 
GilleyD@wpunj.edu
Jeung Woon Lee
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Boston University
2000
Neurophysiology of pain; Transplantation of genetically engineered cells for pain research   Phone: 1 973 720 2442
Office: SCIE 4044
LeeJ22@wpunj.edu
Claire M. Leonard
Professor
Ph.D., New York Medical College
1987
Molecular biology of metabolic diseases   Phone: 1 973 720 2791
Office: SWest 4058
LeonardC@wpunj.edu
Kendall J. Martin
Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University
2001
Microbial ecology   Phone: 1 973 720 3452
Office: SCIE 4045
MartinK31@wpunj.edu
Jaishri Menon
Professor
Ph.D., University of Baroda India
1978
Physiology and vertebrate morphology   Phone: 1 973 720 2795
Office: SCIE 4040
MenonJ@wpunj.edu

Emily Monroe
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Medical University of South Carolina  
2008

Genomics & molecular biology of marine organisms; secondary metabolism; harmful algal blooms   Phone: 1 973 720 2792
Office: SCIE 4053
MonroeE@wpunj.edu
Emmanuel Onaivi
Professor
Ph.D., University of Bradford England
1987
Molecular biology of drug abuse   Phone: 1 973 720 3453
Office: SCIE 4049
OnaiviE@wpunj.edu
Pradeep Patnaik
Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
1989
DNA replication and the molecular genetics of parasitic protozoa   Phone: 1 973 720 3454
Office: SCIE 4055
PatnaikP@wpunj.edu
Michael S. Peek
Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland
2002
Plant ecophysiology   Phone: 1 973 720 2247
Office: SCIE 4054
PeekM@wpunj.edu
Lance S. Risley
Professor 
Ph.D., University of Georgia
1987
Ecology of forest ecosystems; conservation biology (focus on bats)   Phone: 1 973 720 3438
Office: SCIE 4051
RisleyL@wpunj.edu
Sharma

Venkat Sharma

Professor & Dean of College of Science and Health

Ph.D., University of Madras

1989

Transcription and cytokine biology; Immunology, Nano-Immunology, Biochemistry of Leukemia, HIV-associated B-cell lymphomas and Biomedical Ethics

Phone: 1 973 720 2194

Office: SCIE 3019

SharmaV@wpunj.edu

David Slaymaker
Professor & Department Chair
Ph.D.,University of California at Riverside
1999
Molecular plant ecology; molecular plant-pathogen interactions   Phone: 1 973 720 2439
Office: SCIE 4064B
SlaymakerD@wpunj.edu
Joseph Spagna
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
2006
Systematics, evolution and biomechanics of arthropods   Phone: 1 973 720 2793
Office: SCIE 4039
SpagnaJ@wpunj.edu
Stephen G. Vail
Professor
Ph.D.,University of California at Davis
1990
Population ecology; plant-animal interactions; Lyme disease   Phone: 1 973 720 2487
Office: SCIE 4041
VailS@wpunj.edu
Miryam Z. Wahrman
Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
1981
Microbiology; hand hygiene; bacteria-fomite interactions; bioethics   Phone: 1 973 720 3456
Office: SCIE 4050
WahrmanM@wpunj.edu
Carey Waldburger
Associate Professor
Ph.D.,University of Southern California
1992
Molecular biology, biochemistry, and genetics of bacterial signal transduction   Phone: 1 973 720 2486
Office: SCIE 4052
WaldburgerC@wpunj.edu
Emeritus Faculty  Contact Info
Robert Benno, Ph.D.

Professor, Emeritus

2017

    BennoR@wpunj.edu
Robert Chesney, Ph.D.

Professor, Emeritus

2015

    ChesneyR@wpunj.edu
Michael Sebetich, Ph.D.

Professor, Emeritus

2014

    SebetichM@wpunj.edu
Martin Hahn, Ph.D.

Professor, Emeritus

2008

    HahnM@wpunj.edu
Sharon Hanks, Ph.D.

Professor, Emerita

2004

    HanksS@wpunj.edu
Jane Voos, Ph.D.

Professor, Emerita

2004

    VoosJ@wpunj.edu
Ching-Yeh Hu, Ph.D.

Professor, Emeritus

2000

    ChingH@wpunj.edu
Edith Wallace, Ph.D.

Professor, Emerita

1998

    WallaceE@wpunj.edu