University’s Department of Philosophy Charters a Local Chapter of International Honor Society

William Paterson's first philosophy honor society inducts first group of students.

Present at the ceremony were (front row, left to right) Barbara Andrew, Karlene Chi, and David Weyandt. (Back row, left to right) Kara Rabbitt, dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Stephen Hahn, and Sean Mulligan

Sixteen William Paterson University students were inducted into Phi Sigma Tau, the international honor society in philosophy, New Jersey Iota Chapter, the first honor society devoted to philosophy, in an induction ceremony held on campus in April.

Associate Provost Stephen Hahn led the ceremony by installing the chapter’s officers, David Weyandt, president, and co-vice presidents Karlene Chi, and Sean Mulligan. They in turn initiated the members, Christian Calderon, Michael Cereneck, Kristin Donovan, Stephen Ercolino, Steve Fedorchak, Michael Fostek, Jennifer Hearon, Nnamdi Obianwu, Andrew Pavlak, Carla Rainey, Ryan Shanahan, Alan Stowers, and Joseph Whitaker. The faculty sponsor is Barbara Andrew, associate professor of philosophy and department chairperson.

“Phi Sigma Tau recognizes the many accomplishments of philosophy majors, including high GPAs and papers given at philosophy conferences,” Andrew says. “Students’ membership in the international group gives them access to connections with many other philosophy majors and faculty pursuing research and publishing and graduate education.  Phi Sigma Tau also creates a group of similarly interested, talented people on campus, who want to talk about philosophy outside of the classroom.”

The Philosophy Department was designated as the New Jersey Iota chapter of Phi Sigma Tau, the international philosophy honors society, on January 30, 2012.  Phi Sigma Tau was founded in 1930 and incorporated in 1955.  The society has more than 200 chapters in the United States and Canada.  The National Executive Council of Phi Sigma Tau unanimously endorsed the William Paterson Philosophy Department’s petition to form a chapter on campus.