Reverse Transfer Agreements


Reverse Transfer Agreements create a systematic process to assist students who have transferred to William Paterson University to complete an associate’s degree at back at their county college while currently attending William Paterson University.  Information is shared in accordance with FERPA and any state and local laws including those of our regional accrediting association, the Middles States Commission on Higher Education.

William Paterson University currently has signed Reverse Transfer Agreements with the following New Jersey community colleges:

  • Bergen Community College
  • County College of Morris
  • Mercer County Community College
  • Passaic County Community College 
  • Raritan Valley Community College
  • Union County College
  • Warren County Community College

Currently enrolled William Paterson University students must sign a transcript release form, allowing the university to send back their WPU transcript to the county college for it to be re-evaluated for an associate’s degree.  If the county college finds that the students have enough appropriate credits for an associate’s degree, they will notify the student in writing.  Students and county colleges are eligible for reverse transfer agreements within three (3) calendar years from the date in which they transferred into William Paterson University. 

Each reverse transfer agreement varies since the county college decides how many credits the students must earn there in order to be eligible (the county college’s credit residency requirement.)  Ultimately, it is the county college that awards the associate’s degree to the student.


Benefits of reverse transfer agreements include:

  • First, the number of associate degree graduates in New Jersey will increase.  
  • Second, upon awarding the credential, the college will be able to count the early transfer student as a graduate  (completer).  
  • Third, the student receive a credential that he/she would not otherwise have received.


For more information on Reverse Transfer,  please see the list of contacts below:

Bergen Community College

Ms. Dianna O'Connor

County College of Morris 

Dr. Bette Simmons 

Mercer County Community College

Passaic County Community College

Ms. Shannon Krause

Mr. Daniel Bozza

Raritan Valley Community College

Union County College

Warren County Community College

Ms. Margie Gavakos

Dr. Bernard Polnariev

Mr. Jeremy Beeler

William Paterson University

Dr. Patrick Noonan