Two William Paterson University Nursing Professors Selected Among March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Finalists for 2018

From Left: Leo-Felix Jurado, Brenda Marshall, Sharon Puchalski, Vivek Agnihotri, Sandy Foley and Lydia Albuquerque

Vivek Agnihotri and Sharon Puchalski, both assistant professors of nursing at William Paterson University, were named as March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Finalists in the categories of Women’s Health and Pre-Hospital, Emergency and Critical Care, respectively. The nurses were honored at an awards gala on November 14, 2018 held at the Grand Marquis in Old Bridge.

“We are very proud of Professors Agnihotri  and Puchalski for being named finalists in the prestigious March of Dimes Nurse of the Year awards,” says Venkat Sharma, dean of the College of Science and Health at William Paterson. “They have distinguished themselves as outstanding nurse and academic educators.”

The March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards recognize nursing excellence and achievements in research, education, quality patient care, innovation and leadership. More than 250 nurses were nominated for this year's Nurse of the Year Awards, across 12 distinct categories ranging from Advanced Practice to Women's Health. Applications were then reviewed and scored by high-ranking nurse leaders. Through this competitive process, six finalists within each category were determined.