Professor Brenda Marshall Among Nine Nursing Leaders to Receive the American Psychiatric Nurses Association 2018 Award

Brenda Marshall, professor of nursing

Brenda Marshall, professor of nursing at William Paterson University, is among nine exceptional psychiatric-mental health nurses selected to receive the 2018 American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) annual awards. Marshall will be honored at the APNA 32nd Annual Conference in Columbus, Ohio in October.

Marshall will receive the Award for Excellence in Research for her work to examine the best ways to reduce the stigma surrounding mental health, a significant barrier to treatment.

Personifying the conference theme, “Trusted Agents of Change: Nurses Balancing Inequities in Mental Health Care,” the recipients were nominated by their colleagues and chosen for this honor by a committee of their peers.

The APNA is a national professional membership organization committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric-mental health nursing and wellness promotion, prevention of mental health problems and the care and treatment of persons with psychiatric disorders.