Honors Tracks

Honors College Tracks

There are currently eleven Honors tracks. Each track is directed by a faculty member who determines the appropriate courses for the track, admits students, and guides the students through the track and thesis project.

Students must enter an Honors track by their junior year in order to be in good standing in the Honors College. Most tracks are comprised of five courses, including courses for the thesis research and writing. Ideally, students will begin their work in the track during their sophomore year and complete the thesis before their last semester at the University.

The Honors College requires all students to pursue a disciplinary major and an Honors track. The track may parallel the major, relate to the major, or be very different from the major. Different tracks have different requirements, and students are encouraged to speak with the track directors before applying to a track. Students enrolled in an Honors track may count track classes toward a second major or a minor. 

Track Directors

Track Directors run individual tracks, mentor many of the Honors students, and help determine the College's curriculum requirements and oversee its mission. 

Dr. Joseph Spagna, Biology
(973) 720-2793
spangaj@wpunj.edu

Dr. Bela Florenthal, Business
(973) 720-3679
florenthalb@wpunj.edu

Dr. Bruce Diamond, Clinical Psychology and Neuropsychology
(973) 720-3400
diamond@wpunj.edu

Dr. Amy Learmonth, Cognitive Science
(973) 720-2765
learmontha@wpunj.edu

Dr. John Peterman, Humanities
(973) 720-3030
petermanj@wpunj.edu

Dr. Barbara Andrew, Independent
(973) 720-3658
andrewb@wpunj.edu 

Dr. Jeffery Kresky, Music
(973) 720-3470
kreskyj@wpunj.edu

Dr. Jill Nocella, Nursing
(973) 720-3483
nocellaj1@wpunj.edu

Dr. Philip Cioffari, Performing and Literary Arts
(973) 720-3053
cioffarip@wpunj.edu

Dr. Neil Kressel, Social Sciences
(973) 720-3389
kresseln@wpunj.edu