Election Council May 2016 Minutes

Leadership:

- David Cupo and Natalie Obrecht are now co-chairs of the Election Council

Elections:

- The Spring 2016 online election went well, despite a minor technical difficulty (which was resolved) regarding the inclusion of "s" after "http" when resending lost ballot links
- We successfully completed the paper election for the Senate Executive Committee

Voter list

- Thanks to Neil Liggett of EIS, the election committee chairs can now generate voter rosters without having to go through HR or the library
- We reviewed the definition of Adjunct faculty with the Senate Executive Committee. According to the Senate by-laws: "Adjunct faculty is defined by the Agreement between the state of New 13 Jersey and the Council of New Jersey State College Locals, AFT, AFL-CIO 14 ("Adjunct Faculty")."

The definition of an adjunct in the adjunct contract is: "All adjunct faculty teaching credit courses at a College/University during the regular academic year. Summer session, presession and inter-session courses are not considered as employment to confer eligibility for inclusion in the unit. However, an adjunct faculty member who teaches in the summer session, pre-session or inter-session immediately following a semester in which he/she is included in the unit will be included in the unit during such summer session, pre-session or inter-session."

This gives a broader definition because it includes adjuncts who have only taught one semester at WP, while previously the Election Council only included adjuncts who had taught at least two semesters. We will adopt this definition starting Fall 2016.

Committee Positions

- We contacted Nicole Magaldi regarding staggering terms of our committee members and finding replacement members for CCOB and PS
- David Cupo volunteered to serve an additional year (until 2018) in order to assist with staggering terms

Ideally, the Council by Fall 2016 will look like this:

COHSS: Natalie Obrecht (Lindemann) (co-chair) – end 2017

LIB: David Cupo (co-chair) – end 2017 (will then serve a 1-year term, after which library seat returns to a 2-year term)

COE: Chris Mulrine – end 2017

COAC: Jerry Beal (or sub) – end 2017

CCOSH: new term – end 2018 CCOB: new term – end 2018 PS: new term – end 2018