Distinguished Faculty

The professors in William Paterson University’s PsyD program have a diverse range of research interests and areas of specialization. They bring an extensive record of publications and national and international conference presentations.

Cascardi Michele Cascardi, PhD
AB, Duke University, Durham, NC
MA,. Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY
PhD, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY
Licensed Psychologist (NJ, PA)

 

 

Dr. Cascardi’s research aims to improve measurement of adolescent relationship abuse from early adolescence into young adulthood. Her work also focuses on trauma, attachment and social  information processing theories that contribute to risk for aggressive behavior in romantic relationships. Ultimately, this work aims to inform intervention to prevent intimate partner violence. She provides consultation for forensic assessment in family and civil law.

E-mail: cascardim@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall, Room 2051
Phone: (973) 720-3323

 

Chesin Megan Chesin, PhD
BA, College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, Virginia
PhD, City University of New York, New York, New York
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Columbia University, New York, New York
Licensed Psychologist (NY)

 

Dr. Chesin specializes in the study of impulsive-aggressive behavior and third-wave behavioral treatments, such as Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy and Dialectical Behavior Therapy. Her research interests also include minority college student mental health, executive attention, and stress response, particularly as these factors or changes to them, relate to impulsive-aggressive behavior or explain treatment gains among impulsive-aggressive individuals.

E-mail: chesinm@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall, Room 2050
Phone: (973) 720-3393

 

Bruce J. Diamond, MEd, PhD
BA, The Ohio State University
MEd, Smith College
PhD, University of Manchester, UK
NIH Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation
Licensed Psychologist (NJ) Specialization in Neuropsychology

Dr. Diamond specializes in clinical neuropsychology, neurorehabilitation, and cognitive neuroscience. His research uses standardized and computer-based measures including brain imaging/autonomic techniques in order to examine memory, executive function, attention, information processing, and mood in clinical and healthy populations. Dr. Diamond is a practicing Neuropsychologist.
For additional information on research opportunities, click here

E-mail: diamondb@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall, Room 2462B
Phone: (973) 720-3400

 

Jan Mohlman, MS, PhD
BA, University of  California, Los Angeles,  CA
PhD, University of  Oregon, Eugene, OR
Licensed Psychologist (NY)

 

 

 

Dr. Mohlman’s research and clinical work focus on the etiology, course and treatment of anxiety disorders across adulthood (particularly in older adults) and in investigating brain-behavior relationships in psychopathology. Dr. Mohlman’s work has been recognized at the national and international levels.

E-mail: mohlmanj@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall, Room 2042
Phone: (973) 720-3397

 

Nemeroff Robin Nemeroff, PhD
BA, Amherst College, Amherst, MA
PhD, Columbia University, NY, NY
Licensed Psychologist (NY)

 

 

Dr. Nemeroff specializes in community interventions, mind-body approaches to well-being, and lifespan issues. She is trained in psychodynamic psychotherapy, CBT, and therapies that incorporate mindfulness techniques, such as DBT and MBSR.  Her research focuses on stress-reduction and the treatment of generalized anxiety disorder through the integration of traditional psychotherapies and complementary approaches such as mindfulness and yoga. Dr. Nemeroff is a practicing clinician.

E-mail: nemeroffr@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall, Room 2530
Phone: (973) 720-2249

An important part of the success of any academic program is built on the contributions made by an entire department. Our doctoral program is fortunate to be housed in a department that reflects the depth and breadth of interests and backgrounds of a diverse and talented faculty.

 

Name PositionOfficePhoneEmail
Faculty & Staff
 
Dr. Janet Ahn   Science East 2034 x3394 ahnj9@wpunj.edu
Dr. Jane Austin   Science East 2033 x2472 austinj@wpunj.edu
Dr. Michele Cascardi Graduate Director of PsyD Program Science East 2051 x3323 cascardim@wpunj.edu
Dr. Megan Chesin   Science East 2054 x3393 chesinm@wpunj.edu
Dr. Bruce Diamond   Science East 2062B x3400 diamondb@wpunj.edu
Dr. Justina Ekeocha Assistant Chair & Advisor in Chief Science East 2062A x3398 ekeochaj@wpunj.edu
Dr. David Freestone Science East 2055 x2643 freestoned@wpunj.edu 
Dr. Megan (Geerdts) Conrad Science East 2053 x3318 geerdtsm@wpunj.edu
Dr. Michael Gordon Department Chair Science East 2062C x3345 gordonm10@wpunj.edu
Dr. Elizabeth Haines   Science East 2038 x2500 hainese@wpunj.edu
Dr. Thomas Heinzen   Science East 2035 x3402 heinzent@wpunj.edu
Dr. Christian Holle   Science East 2036 x3401 hollec@wpunj.edu
Dr. William Indick Psychology Program Coordinator for WPU at Mercer Science East 2049 x3936 indickw@wpunj.edu
Dr. Neil J. Kressel   Science East 2039 x3389 kresseln@wpunj.edu
Dr. Amy Learmonth   Science East 2057 x2765 learmontha@wpunj.edu
Dr. Gloria Leventhal-Caulfield   Science East 2056 x3396 leventhalg@wpunj.edu
Dr. Pei-Wen Winnie Ma Graduate Director of MA Program Science East 2058 x3403 map@wpunj.edu
Dr. Katherine Makarec   Science East 2052 x3390 makareck@wpunj.edu
Dr. Jan Mohlman   Science East 2042 x3397 mohlmanj@wpunj.edu
Dr. Robin Nemeroff Science East 2060 x2249 nemeroffr@wpunj.edu
Dr. Natalie Obrecht   Science East 2059 x2683 obrechtn@wpunj.edu
Dr. Sumithra Raghavan   Science East 2050 x3317 raghavans@wpunj.edu
Dr. SoYon Rim   Science East 2037 x2951 rims@wpunj.edu
Dr. Aileen Torres Science East 2045E x3391 torresa72@wpunj.edu
Dr. Kathleen Torsney   Science East 2032 x3395 torsneyk@wpunj.edu
   
Dr. Sherle Boone (faculty emeritus)
Dr. Judy Green (faculty emeritus)
Dr. Behnaz Pakizegi (faculty emeritus)
Mr. Barry Silverstein (faculty emeritus)
Dr. Daniel Sugarman (faculty emeritus)
Ms. Dolores Oertel Secretary Science East 2061 x2148 oerteld@wpunj.edu

Name PositionOfficePhoneEmail
PsyD Program Adjunct Faculty
 
Dr. Diana Boschulte boschulted@wpunj.edu
Dr. Nicole Colombino niki.colombino@gmail.com
Dr. Erik Dranoff   dranoffe@wpunj.edu
Dr. Eileen Farrell farrelle3@wpunj.com
Dr. Jax Gallios   galliosj@wpunj.edu
Dr. Caren Jordan   jordanc5@wpunj.edu
Dr. Kelly Kearns kearnsk3@wpunj.edu
Dr. Joseph McGowen mcgowanj7@wpunj.edu
Dr. Lynn Orr OrrL@wpunj.edu
Dr. Glen Sherman shermang@wpunj.edu