New Music Series

New Music Series
Peter Jarvis, Director

Monday, November 16, 2009
7:30 PM in Shea Center's
Shea Auditorium
Suggested contribution $5
(Free for students)

featuring the
WPUNJ New Music Ensemble
with guest Michiyo Suzuki - Clarinets
and Frank Pavese - Piano Music of Béla Bartók, Darren Gage, Gene Pritsker, Steve Reich, David Saperstein and Joji Yuasa Including Three World Premieres Program:
Clarinet Solitude (1980) - Joji Yuasa
Michiyo Suzuki - clarinet

Three Marimba Solos (2009)* - David Saperstein
Payton MacDonald - marimba

Gimme Five (2009)* - Darren Gage
Peter Jarvis - solo drumset

Sonata for Piano, Sz.80 - BB.88 (1926) - Béla Bartók
Frank Pavese - piano

Nagoya Marimbas (1994) - Steve Reich
Alan Buxbaum, Nick Doktor - marimba
Peter Jarvis - coach

A Certain Degree of Neurosis (2009)* - Gene Pritsker
Michiyo Suzuki - Bass Clarinet
Peter Jarvis - Percussion

* - World Premiere